Waiting periods are defined time-frames during which you have limited or no access to benefit and can be divided into 3 categories

  1. General Waiting Period
  2. Condition-Specific Waiting Period
  3. Policy Specific Waiting Period

1. General Waiting Period:

During a general waiting period an insured is not entitled to any benefits for a period of 3 months.

General Waiting periods are applied where a new policy is incepted or insured person added and effects all benefits.

When you upgrade the option on your policy there will also be a 3 month General Waiting Period on any new benefits or the increased benefits.

2. Condition-Specific Waiting Period:

A Condition Specific waiting period is a 10 month period during which no benefits will be provided in respect of any pre-existing medical condition. 

Pre-existing medical condition is any condition you have been diagnosed with or received medical advice, care or treatment for in the last 12 months.

Condition-Specific waiting periods do not effect any of your other benefits.

3. Policy Specific Waiting Period:

Policy Specific waiting periods apply to all policies or insured persons where a General Waiting period is applicable.

The following list of conditions are subject to a 10 month waiting period with 50% of benefit accessible from month 7 to 10.

  • Myringotomy and Grommets
  • Adenoidectomy
  • Tonsillectomy
  • Hysterectomy where not malignant
  • Spinal, back, neck and joint related procedures where not due to an accident